Image

I was reading the above Proverb this morning and verse 2 particularly caught my attention. It says, “Ignorant desire isn’t good; rushing feet make mistakes.” I’ve been thinking and talking to many friends about passion and finding a purpose in life. Many people this month have come up to me and said that I “inspire” them. When I hear things like that I don’t take an arrogant response at all. I’m very thankful that God is directing me towards one of my greatest pleasures in life: seeing other people happy. I aspire to inspire through strategic servant leadership. I’m blessed beyond measure, but at the end of the day I’m very cognizant that someone out there somewhere is doing bigger and better things. So who am I to puff out my chest and say how great and wonderful I am? It’s all a matter of perspective. I’ve had a very successful February to say the least. What exactly I’ve accomplished/been rewarded this month is noteworthy but irrelevant to today’s post. 

Back to my rant on passion before my digression. How many of us want that “dream job” one day where we wake up ecstatic each and every day…where we genuinely LOVE what we do and never “work” a single day of adulthoodEverybody, right? Well God says it’s good to have these dreams and ambitions, but it’s even more important to figure out a way to get there. I’ve learned in my first-year seminar the difference between a great idea and an entrepreneurial activity is execution. In other words, a great idea is nothing but a thought until it’s acted upon correctly (think Steve Jobs and Apple) Or, as J. Cole said it, we all have a “dollar and a dream”. But how many of us strategically move and walk in that passion?

It’s not enough anymore to work hard in this world. We’re turning into a more global economy each and every day. Our competition is no longer domestically but rather internationally. Everyone is smart. Everyone has ideas. Everyone has potential. The difference between the rich and famous and the poor and meager is one simple word: execution. And in correlation to God’s word, successful people who LOVE what they do on a daily basis, don’t make decisions in haste. As the old saying goes, they think before they act.

If you want to be successful, copy the thoughts, habits, and mannerisms of successful people. Or as one of my favorite quote says, “If you want to succeed as bad as you want to breathe, then you’ll be successful.” If you want success that bad, you’ll do whatever is necessary to get there, namely planning your work and working your plan. It’s all very simple. We as a society just make everything more complicated than it needs to be.

Please Leave a Reply

