Overanalyzing or Just Deep Thought?

One thing you should know about me: I absolutely positively HATE making decisions. Why? Because no matter what you decide, there’s always questions that remain. What if you chose the other option…what would’ve happened instead? Why is the option you chose the “best” option? And if it wasn’t the best, what was? Why? These are just some of the many things that go on inside my head whenever I have to make a decision on something. I don’t care if it’s the choice of whether to study for a final or what cereal to eat for breakfast. I’m always second guessing myself. In other words, I over-analyze the hell out of things. I consider this one of my mini character flaws.

But tonight I was on the phone with my girlfriend I pondered the question: What’s the difference between over-analyzing and just deep thinking? Ok, sure when I’m torn between which Polo to wear in the morning…should it be green or blue…or wait no…maybe red…yeah that’s probably just over-analyzing. I need to just pick a shirt and be done with it. But what about when I contemplate things like “What is fear? Does it even exist?” or “What causes a person to act the way they do? What event(s) or mindset shapes their overall outlook on life?” I would consider that deep thought.

But just because you don’t necessarily immediately find answers to the questions I just posed when you’re in “deep thought” I don’t think you should disregard them all together. Some things in life just aren’t meant to be answered. But to me, that’s the beauty of it all. The journey is better than the destination. Some things, on the other hand, are just seemingly “impossible questions” that just take really really deep thought to figure out the answer. For instance, what happens at work at 11:30 am on a Tuesday?

I’ve recently been interested in the Dalai Lama and the Buddist method of meditation as influenced by a really good friend of mine.. And no I’m not Buddist, I’m a Christian. Joshua 1:8 says “Study this Book of Instruction continually. Meditate on it day and night so you will be sure to obey everything written in it. Only then will you prosper and succeed in all you do.” Never before have I really paid attention to what God is trying to impress on Christians: meditation is essential to a prosperous life. In addition to God’s Word I’m choosing to now reflect on basic questions I have about the world around me. This deep thought is not only very relaxing, but also very helpful in helping me begin to answer those “impossible questions” (the answer to the 11:30 am on a Tuesday question is you’re at your best and you do your best work by the way). Anyways, random venting over.

ONE Love…

Please Leave a Reply